Health
Birth Control
Birth Control
July 20, 2022

Abortion Laws By State: What To Know In 2022

Use this list to quickly find out if abortion is banned in your state.
Published on
July 20, 2022
Updated on
— What's changed?
Medically Reviewed by
10 minute read

In late June 2022, the Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade, leaving abortion policies in the hands of each individual state. The impact of the landmark ruling cannot be underestimated. It will radically shift the federal landscape of reproductive rights — and in the process, spur legal, economic, and health changes throughout the country. If you need to access abortion services, care, or support during this time, it’s important to know the laws that pertain to your state so that you can best assess next steps. Here’s where state policies stand post-Roe and how they might change in the near future. 

13 states have abortion trigger laws 

Trigger laws are bans designed to be enforceable once there is a particular shift in circumstances. If you’re wondering where abortion is illegal, know that the Supreme Court decision activated trigger laws in 13 states: Arkansas, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming. 

In trigger ban states, and some other states with restrictive laws around abortion, state medicaid and private insurance cannot be used to cover abortion care and services. These laws are also designed to shutter clinics like Planned Parenthood as they state only physicians can perform abortion and no other quality health care professionals. There are plenty of ways you can support and donate to organizations fighting for reproductive justice

Find abortion laws by state: Quick look

While state policies around abortion, restrictions, and access can be complicated across the country, this reference guide can help you quickly identify where your state stands on the issue. 

Key

✅ = Protective, meaning abortion remains legal and there are no bans in place and no plans for bans to be instated. Abortion, however, remains banned at fetal viability (generally 24–26 weeks). State and private insurance cover abortion services and care prior to fetal viability.
🟠= Restrictive, or restrictive because of a temporary block. Heavy restrictions include abortion bans at six or 15 weeks of pregnancy.
❌= Banned with limited exceptions, or state plans to instate bans soon. Limited exceptions include cases of rape, incest, and medical emergencies.

Alabama abortion law

❌ Abortion is banned with very limited exceptions.

Alaska abortion law 

 Abortion is legal throughout all stages of pregnancy. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

Arizona abortion law

🟠 A bill that restricts abortion up until 15 weeks will go into effect in late September. Right now, abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at substantial risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Arkansas abortion law

Abortion is banned with limited exceptions. 

California abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

Colorado abortion law

Abortion is legal at all stages of pregnancy. Minors must provide parental notification.

Connecticut abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

Delaware abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors, specifically those under the age of 16, must provide parental notification.

District of Columbia abortion law

Abortion is legal at all stages of pregnancy. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

Florida abortion law

🟠 Abortion is legal up until 15 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental notification and consent.

Georgia abortion law

✅ Abortion is legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental notification.

Hawaii abortion law

Abortion is legal at up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

Idaho abortion law

Because Idaho previously enacted trigger laws, abortion will likely be banned with limited exceptions by the end of July. Right now, abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide consent.

Illinois abortion law

Abortion is legal up until 24 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors do not need to provide parental consent.

Indiana abortion law

✅ Abortion is legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Iowa abortion law

Abortion is legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at substantial risk. Minors must provide parental notification.

Kansas abortion law

Abortion is legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Kentucky abortion law

🟠 Due to a temporary restraining order that blocks the enactment of Kentucky’s trigger ban, abortion remains legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Louisiana abortion law

🟠 Due to a temporary restraining order that blocks the enactment of Louisiana’s trigger ban, abortion remains legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Maine abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

Maryland abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental notification.

Massachusetts abortion law

Abortion is legal up until 24 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors, specifically those under the age of 16, must provide parental consent.

Michigan abortion law

Due to a temporary restraining order that blocks the enactment of Michigan’s trigger ban, abortion remains legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent. 

Minnesota abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental notification.

Mississippi abortion law

Abortion is banned with limited exceptions.

Missouri abortion law

Abortion is banned with limited exceptions.

Montana abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors, specifically those under the age of 16, must provide parental notification. 

Nebraska abortion law

✅ Abortion is legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at substantial risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Nevada abortion law

Abortion is legal up until 24 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

New Hampshire abortion law

Abortion is legal up until 24 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental notification.

New Jersey abortion law

Abortion is legal at all stages of pregnancy. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

New Mexico abortion law

Abortion is legal at all stages of pregnancy. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

New York abortion law

Abortion is legal up until 24 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

North Carolina abortion law

Abortion is legal at up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at “substantial risk.” Minors must provide parental consent. 

North Dakota abortion law

Because North Dakota previously enacted trigger laws, abortion will be banned with limited exceptions by July 28, 2022. Right now, abortion is legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Ohio abortion law

🟠 Abortion is banned after cardiac activity has been detected (around six weeks of pregnancy), though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Oklahoma abortion law

Abortion is banned with limited exceptions. 

Oregon abortion law

Abortion is legal at all stages of pregnancy. Minors, specifically those under the age of 15, need to provide parental consent.

Pennsylvania abortion law

Abortion is legal up until 24 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent.

Rhode Island abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental consent. 

South Carolina abortion law

🟠 Abortion is banned after six weeks of pregnancy with limited exceptions. Minors, specifically those under the age of 17, must provide parental consent.

South Dakota abortion law

Abortion is banned with limited exceptions. 

Tennessee abortion law

Because Tennessee previously enacted trigger laws, abortion will likely be banned with limited exceptions by the end of July. Right now, abortion is banned after six weeks of pregnancy with limited exceptions. Minors must provide parental consent.

Texas abortion law

Abortion is banned with limited exceptions.

Utah abortion law

🟠 Due to a temporary restraining order that blocks the enactment of Utah’s trigger ban, abortion remains legal up until 18 weeks of pregnancy. Minors must provide parental notification and consent.

Vermont abortion law

Abortion is legal at all stages of pregnancy. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

Virginia abortion law

Abortion is legal up until the third trimester of pregnancy (around 27 weeks), though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at substantial risk. Minors must provide parental notification and consent.

Washington abortion law

Abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors do not need to provide parental notification or consent.

West Virginia abortion law

Because West Virginia previously enacted trigger laws, abortion will likely be banned with limited exceptions in the upcoming months. Right now, abortion is legal up until 22 weeks of pregnancy, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental notification.

Wisconsin abortion law

Given the legal uncertainty of abortion post-Wade — due to the state’s 1849 pre-Roe ban — abortion in Wisconsin is largely inaccessible. 

Wyoming abortion law

Because Wyoming previously enacted trigger laws, abortion will likely be banned with limited exceptions by the end of July. Right now, abortion is legal up until fetal viability, though it is permitted after that time if the pregnant person’s health is at risk. Minors must provide parental notification and consent.

The bottom line

The Supreme Court’s decision will impact every American in some way, shape, or form. But while there are more barriers to abortion access, there are still resources that can help get you the care you need. To learn more about how you can get support — especially if you’re in a state with abortion trigger bans or restrictions — explore resources for abortion access and care.

Reviewed for Medical Accuracy

Luisa is a writer with a focus in developmental psychology and the study of resilience. She graduated from the University of Pittsburgh with a degree in English, and she is currently studying clinical psychology at Columbia University’s Teachers College. In her free time, Luisa likes to hike, read memoirs, and drink lots of caffeine-free tea.

Orgasm
Order Form

We want to help you get the orgasm you want.
Let's get it on
O.school keeps this information totally private and anonymous.

References

1. An overview of abortion laws. (2022, July 11). Guttmacher Institute. https://www.guttmacher.org/state-policy/explore/overview-abortion-laws 

2. An overview of consent to reproductive health services by young people. (2022, July 1). Guttmacher Institute. https://www.guttmacher.org/state-policy/explore/overview-minors-consent-law

3. Hubbard, K. (2022, July 8). State abortion laws in the wake of Roe v. Wade. US News. https://www.usnews.com/news/best-states/articles/a-guide-to-abortion-laws-by-state